New Phone, Who Dis?

Hi Hive!

TL;DR: I've missed this community (and more generally being a part of a community) and I'm going to attempt another go at posting my artwork semi-regularly. First art post is at the end of this post below.

The full scoop:

Lately I've been reminiscing about late 2017 and discovering steemit for the first time. Crypto was brand new to me, and I was completely caught up in all of the excitement, joy and hysteria around the surge in prices over the coming months.

I wanted more exposure into the crypto community, and steemit was exactly what I needed (even tho I didn't realize it at the time).

I posted to "introduce yourself" as a stop motion animator and crypto enthusiast. Excited about this new social platform that rewarded its users in a way that the larger platforms did not. And then, themarkymark reposted my blog post, made a mention about how important it was to the steemit platform to bring in a wider userbase outside of crypto. I felt like I had instantly become apart of a community that was unique and unlike anything I had been a part of before. I received a lot of positive messages regarding my work, and it fueled my enthusiasm for the platform and the community.

Over the coming months I was posting more about myself, my art and my process than I was any where else online. The community on steemit actually seemed interested in my work, and I enjoyed sharing and talking with others about my process.

Then I moved.

I took an extensive break from steemit while I moved from Los Angeles to San Francisco. Once I was resettled and felt like I could dedicate myself to posting again (maybe a year later?). I posted a few times, discussed my struggle with motivation, and then fell out of posting again. I've struggled with motivation the last few years, and just could not find it in me to start back up with regular posts. And then the massive exodus from steemit had happened, and it felt like when I reentered I had stumbled upon a wasteland of spam bots and garbage posts fishing for steem tokens. It was unrecognizable. I thought for sure the community was gone.

It took me until recently to realize that a fork to this newer platform had actually happened, and that my account with the old posts I've been reminiscing about live here on hive.

ANYWAYS, I took it as a sign to try again. Start fresh so to speak. I'm wanting to refamiliarize myself with the community here, see who's still around, and most importantly post new artwork.

For anyone who's made it this far, thanks for reading! I'm going to be taking baby-steps back into this, but I'm excited about posting my artwork again. I've got ideas for new series of pieces, and would love any thoughts, critiques and/or suggestions on the things that I post.

So to start us off, here's a piece that hasn't been posted anywhere yet. A little swamp monster I made for Halloween last year (haven't really posted much in the past 12-18 months, so we're starting back a ways):

IMG_7360.jpg

Next post will actually be an art post where I talk a little bit about the process I used when going from concept thru completion with this illustration.

Thanks for reading! See ya around.

Tyson

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center