Tarot deck

I love the art of tarot cards, I don't know how to read them myself, but it seems like something fun I could get into. One site said tarot works best when you really connect with the art of the deck, so I thought, why don't I just draw my own?

It's a big task though, 76 cards in all! So far I've only drawn 5. I've tried to keep a lot of the symbolism from the original designs for each card, but I'm just trying to have fun with it.

20180205_213908.jpg

Instead of a wold and a dog as traditionally put on the moon card, I drew two family dogs to add a personal touch.

20180205_213921.jpg

I tried to keep the death card lighthearted, I didn't want to scare any friends, apparently it's more a sign of permanent change than ...well...death

20180205_213913.jpg

This is actually my second attempt at the lovers card, I completely muddied the colours on the first try, but that's the problem with traditional mediums, no undo button like with digital drawings!

20180205_213917.jpg

This was a difficult pose and I'm still not sure I got it entirely right, but overall I'm happy with how it turned out.

20180205_213925.jpg

And a fancy empress to finish it off!

I'll post the next 5 once I'm happy with them, but I think this project is going to be a long one!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center