Portrait of Nancy - Digital Art/ Charcoal Sketch


Portrait of Nancy



Right click and select "Open Image In New Tab" to see a larger version of it.


I've been busy with various real life things so haven't been able to post as much as usual.

One of the things I have been busy with is trying to work on this portrait.

It's taken a lot longer than I expected. The final piece is probably composed of hundreds of layers because I still don't have the confidence to do too much on a single layer.

It's also not as large in terms of size as I would have liked. Unfortunately Corel Painter 18 is not as fast as Photoshop so for perfomance reasons it becomes necessary to restrict the size of the canvas (particularly if you are using lots of brushes and layers).

I also kept changing my mind about how much detail I wanted versus how much expression. To be honest I think I could probably keep tinkering with it, but it would never be finished.

I suppose you have to draw the line somewhere. Might be a while before I feel like painting/sketching another one as I am quite exhausted with this.

I still have a headache from staring at the screen.

I'm going to try getting this printed to see how it translates to physical form.

As always feel free to use it in your own posts if you can find a use for it.


Alternate Version

Nancy 1_023_FINAL_EL_BW_003_FINAL3_BlueGhost2.png

Right click and select "Open Image In New Tab" to see a larger version of it.

I couldn't help but try tinting the colours in Photoshop. I quite like the ghostly blue tones here. This was achieved using a gradient map layer. Let me know which version you prefer.


Brushes Used

I originally wanted to make the image using just the charcoal brushes in Corel Painter 18, but it didn't give me the look I wanted.

Eventually I added in 3 or 4 more brushes. Here is a quick list of what I used:

  • Vine Charcoal.
  • Detail Oils Brush.
  • Digital Airbrush.
  • Wet Sponge.

This is one of the big advantages of digital painting, you can mix together all sorts of media that could not normally be combined.


Photo Reference


Nancy_2013_portrait (1 of 1).jpg

This is a photo of model Nancy Morris from London in 2013 which I used to create this artwork. Hopefully I have done justice to the original.




Steemithelp.net

Are you new to Steemit and Looking for Answers?

Please visit:

Steemithelp.net

A collection of guides and tutorials that cover the basics of Steem and Steemit.


Follow me Steemit & Twitter.

All uncredited images are taken from my personal Thinkstock Photography account. More information can be provided on request.


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center