Pink Dragon artwork

I dont think there are enough pink dragons so I wanted to do my part to remedy that!

I have been trying to work on a style that I can do in what I would consider a comic book fashion. Want it almost a cross between traditional comic book coloring and digital painting. Since working on my own comic book/whatever It has been a chance for me to try some new things.

In a traditional comic usually one person pencils, one inks and last one colors. Since I am doing it all myself I can sort of bounce around and color over the inks or draw on it after it is colored etc, it gives me more flexibility. My main goal is to speed up the process and have something thats still pretty cool.

I often can labor on and on in a piece of artwork but I have been more conscious of just trying to call it quits and move on to the next even if its not what I had envisioned originally.

First the finished piece so it appears as the thumbnail image :)

2018-04-24 17-12 2018-01-26 17-17 dragon head.JPG_012.jpg

This started out as a pencil sketch.

Then I inked it digitally.

Then colored in the background and started roughing in some color.

2018-01-26 17-17 dragon head.JPG_001.jpg

Spruced up the background some and also worked more on his face. Mostly done in Corel painter with the scratchboard tool set at about 30 percent opacity on his face.
2018-01-26 17-17 dragon head.JPG_003.jpg
Then added some more shadows and blending things some and called it good instead of working on it for more hours. I tried a lot to get his tongue pink but nut no matter what I tried it wasnt working so decided against it. It stood out too much.

Overall I think this would work as a comic panel without spending days on it to complete so I am happy with the piece. I always look at it and think man I could make this really cool if I just spent more time doing X but at a certain point I learned to just move on. Thanks for checking it out!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center