Paper Clips "Busby Berkeley Style"

9-21-15-5detail.jpg

I took a fairly complex hexagonal 3D sphere and replaced every vertex with a paper clip model. At first they reminded me of how the clips cling together when magnetized, except these clips have a lot more order. I think they are more in the style of the vintage Busby Berkeley movies.

9-21-15-7.jpg

After doing these paper clip images, I realized that I had seen something like them before. When I was a kid back in the '50s and '60s, old movies from the '20s to the '40s were shown on Saturday's TV lineup. I remember seeing these elaborate musicals from the late 1930's that were directed by Busby Berkeley. It was the Post Depression era, and people then wanted to see movies that took them away from their troubles. Berkeley's specialty was creating intricate geometric forms with dancing showgirls and lavish scenery on stage.

These scenes never had much to do with the storyline of the movie. They were mesmerizing fantasy interludes set to music. They entertained by showing amazing excess to an audience who wanted an escape from a frugal reality. Here are a few shots from his movies:

06c8bcde19d3701d576e04a93e32c0e5.jpg

Awesome Geometrical Arrangement of Dancers by Busby Berkeley, 1930s (10).jpg

download (2).jpg


The paper clip images were made inside a 3D sphere. I call this method "spherical art" because it captures scenes from inside a sphere with a virtual camera. You can see more examples at sphericalart.com
These images were previously posted by me on Twitter as @spherical_art, on Instagram as @sphericalart, and on Sola as Paul Petersen.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center