VAL - DEVLOG 001

Introduction


I am back! I left steemit for a while but I decided to try it again. I really want to get into writing more blog style posts, so here it is. Some may notice that my name has changed. I will also be updating my profile picture and header. All of this will come in time. Now on to the real meat and potatos. A NEW DEVLOG! This will be the start of a devlog that I hope to continue. It is about a new game that I started as a side project. If you're wondering about KHIO, that game is still in development and is my main priority. As for VAL, I hope to slowly complete it and make it a somewhat short game. If I get good feedback on this first post I will for sure be making more. Since this is a side project, I can share a lot more info as well. Anyways let's begin.

About VAL


So I started working on this game in hopes of finishing it within 2 weeks. This was over my winter break, so I didn't have school. I thought I could finish it but then "life" happened. The main setting for this game takes place in SPACE. Heres a GIF of the main menu to give you an idea of how space looks in this game.

menu.gif

The basic idea that I had for this game was that you play as a drone on a ship because you died (more on this some other time). Did I mention this is a ship used for bounty hunting? Yes, you are a bounty hunter in space. The ship is in critical condition so priority one is finding other ships that you could scrap or fight for resources. Once your ship is in good condition your goal is to find the Captain. He looted the ship and left in an escape pod (The reason the ship is in critical condition). Most of the game is about finding him through a series of bounties and asking other people where he is. It's a very rough outline of what you can do and will probably be changed.

Where I'm at


My initial plan was to get one mission done so that there would be something to play within the two weeks that I had. In the current state, the menu and intro have been made, as well as one test room for the spaceship. Heres a gif of it.

testroom.gif

As you can see there's a basic ship-looking room. At least I hope it looks like a ship. There's also a bed model, along with a keycard that you can drag around and something that's floating. That thing which is floating is named Blinks. He's you're ship's personal assistant. So that's about all I have right now. If this post does well, I hope to work on this project more and keep you updated. My next goal for this project is to finish modeling the rest of the ship. I'm sure I've missed some major features that have been added but these will be covered in time.

Thank you for reading my first devlog. I hope you enjoyed this and it looks like a fun game. Please let me know if you have any suggestions for what I could add to this game. I want this to be a game conceptualized by a community instead of just me.

<3

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center