Fulfilling Promises


thumbnail.jpeg



There are days when you just need a friend to talk to. Someone that knows you well enough you can leave your guard down and just be yourself.

I am very lucky. On Hive, I have a family I know I can call just to say "Hello!" Sometimes I am the one that needs that human connection. Other times my phone rings, and it's someone that just needs to feel normal and have a chat about nothing important.

cropped crying truck.jpg

One of the great things that can happen while just chatting away about nothing is you hear giggling and then full-blown laughter in your ear. You then get told to hold on as you wait to understand what you can not see.

A photo of a truck shows up, and then you, yourself, start cracking up! Your comment is that the poor truck in the picture is crying from not being washed! And down a rabbit hole, you both go!



Truck part 5a.jpg

So much fun sketching again



After a laughter-filled conversation, you hang up the phone. Your hands start to itch. It's a good itch! One I have not felt in a long time. I grab my newest sketchbook and draw what I see when looking at the photo of @Enginewity's dirty truck.

I had a blast trying to get the eyes how I wanted them. I could have stopped once I was happy with the sketch, but Engine lost all his art in the house fire. He had an art piece from me that had burnt up. It was time to start working on another piece to take its place.



start.jpg
Ugly Stage?



I am pretty sure a painting of his truck with eyes is not what he was thinking of when he told me he has no art on the walls of his new home for the tenth time in two days.

But...

He is my little brother, soooo I do not think this will surprise him.

I have not painted in forever, either, and it felt great to mess around once again. Do I think this is the best painting in the world? Nope, but it will remind us how much we laughed that day. And sometimes a reminder that life is good is all you need to keep putting one foot in front of the other.



scanned final.jpg

final artwork



Trying to get the correct coloring to show up in a photo is impossible for me right now. I think I have taken ten shots, and the colors look different in each one. Not correct, but different. Maybe Engine will have better luck filming it? Or perhaps it is only meant to see in person while the eyes follow your every move around the kitchen each night... 😹

I will be sending this out in the mail soon, and I hope having it will remind him he is never alone.



Help someone smile today. It can not hurt you.


Snook



All photos are mine unless otherwise stated.



Gif made by @Snook



H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now