The storm (work in progress - part 2)

My "experiment" using just a piece of fabric to paint a seascape is going well and this second day of work gave me some satisfactions ^_^ I started this oil painting on canvas yesterday night, working on the first steps without the easel, but just placing the canvas on my table. A first layer in white, another layer in yellow and after I mix the color to add directly on the canvas using a piece of old fabric. I used also a palette knife to paint the movements of the sea in white. You can see those first steps here.

This morning it was time to work better on the entire scene and so I placed the canvas on the easel and I start to gave a touch of different colors like red, cobalt blue (my favorite shade of blue ^_^) and a bit of black too. I didn't touch a brush, I'm working just using the fabric and I added just few (really few) turpentine on the piece of fabric.

It was not the first time I used a fabric to paint on canvas, but usually use it just to add some velature when at the end of the work.It was tte first time I use a piece of fabric to paint everything and I'm really happy about the result that I'm watching on this painting!

It's also the first time I paint a seascape (Usually I don't like to paint landscape, seascape or similar), but after I watched a docu movie on the last paintings of the english painter William Turner I couldn't resist!

I really love how Turner represented the power of a turbolent sea in his oil painting and so this is a sort of homage to his art ;)

The artwork is in progress, it's the final result, but I want to share with you all the pregress that I'm doing working on it :

As you can see, it's really different from my usual subjects, but it's a great exercise for my hands and for my mind too. I have to say that using the piece of fabric to paint, the shades of colors on the canvas are really interesting and I love the effect.

This morning I added also a little ship on the sea and, at the end of this step, I also added some darker shades on the painting, because my idea is to focus the attention on the points of light.

In the following pic you can see the painting is darker than in the previous pic:

I think I'll work agan on it after the dinner (when the air in the lab is more fresh than now ^_^) and so, maybe it's ready to dry in a couple of day. Stay tuned!

Well, now I have to cook something fast and fresh for dinner,

see ya later

Silvia


silvia beneforti

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now