RoboSteem - Pencil Sketch to Digital Art

Hello Steemit!

This is my entry for the contest "Trial by Comics" by @kommienezuspadt, the theme this time is: “Mecha”!

 " The term mecha (メカ meka) may refer to both scientific ideas and science fiction genres that centers on robots or machines controlled by people. "

RoboSteem is the name of my mecha! the idea and the colors comes from Steemit and Steem, RoboSteem represents Steemit, the controller represents Steem and the hands of course represents us which gives the commends.

I decided to do a digital drawing, but since I don't have a graphics tablet, I had to start with a pencil sketch first, ink it then scan it, after that I colored it using Photoshop. This is the second time I use this process and my second digital art ever! I'm learning more and more and honestly I'm happy with the results!

--------------------------------------

Medium I used: 

  • Graphite Pencils 2H.
  •  Black Ballpoint Pen Ink.

And here's is a step by step progress showing how I drew it from a Pencil Sketch to a Digital Art (Sorry for the low quality pictures): 

Step 1: I started sketching using a 2H graphite pencil, this way the lines can easily be erased later.

--------------------------------------

--------------------------------------

--------------------------------------


Step 2: Here I used the black ballpoint pen ink to redraw all the lines and I erased the graphite ones, this way the outlines of my drawing will be clear when I scan it.


Step 3: After digitizing my drawing, I cleaned it using the "Levels" option in Photoshop and started coloring it.

--------------------------------------

--------------------------------------

--------------------------------------

--------------------------------------

--------------------------------------

--------------------------------------

--------------------------------------

--------------------------------------

--------------------------------------

--------------------------------------

--------------------------------------


Here's a GIF for these steps:

So I hope you'll like it, and thank you very much for your support! Let me know what you think!

 Peace! 

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now