Get Inspired, Using open source photography to create art.

Isn't space photography just beautiful?
It takes a lot of equipment and is something I'm not really going to be able to do myself so being able to dive into a whole host of images taken by the Hubble Telescope is a fantastic way for me to reference different galaxy formations in space as inspiration for my glass vortex pendants and marbles.

If you have a particular interest in space photography or would like to be able to find the images for your own artwork esa's Hubble telescope site is the place for all types of open source space photography.

Galaxy1.jpg

The graceful, winding arms of the majestic spiral galaxy M51 (NGC 5194) appear like a grand spiral staircase sweeping through space. They are actually long lanes of stars and gas laced with dust.

What I see is trails of red dichroic to represent the lanes of stars within the whirlpool, maybe even a little mica powder, all highlighted with a yellow (or perhaps milky white) aura. Translating what I see into glass isn't always as simple though as I know that dichroic doesn't show up as vibrantly when used with lighter colours so I would have to back any dichroic with a darker colour before adding a lighter to create the aura.

Examples of glass vortexes.


TeamGBScarletSmall.png

Borosilicate flameworker and geek


Image Credit: NASA ESA, S. Beckwith (STScI), and The Hubble Heritage Team (STScI/AURA)
Glass and Photography by @ScarletLeonard
TeamGB signature banner by @bearone


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center