[Artwork] NAUT




Damn, it has been a while since I had an artwork that gave me the result that I'm satisfied with. During the Livestream, without even realizing it, I ended up creating an 11k resolution artwork. There is so much detail in it. I had to create several documents to get the workflow going on smoothly, I don't think my workstation like to work constantly in a 15 GB document.


It's always a surprise what I end up with when I'm listening to music and just let stuff go on. The difference between my usual workflow and this one was that I knew beforehand that I wanted to create an artwork that I could add to my tunnel-series. I have a few right now, but this one is by far my favorite.


In case you want to know what my starting photograph was... check this out.



I see a little astronaut figure floating around in the very center, so I named the artwork "Naut". Do you see it as well? Or do you see something else in it?


Below you can find some cropped stills, to showcase some parts of the final artwork. At the very bottom, you'll find the full size of it.


Let me know what you think of it :).


Cheers,
Ruben





























































© 2020 | NAUT | Artwork by Ruben Cress




I like how the haze and trees blended nicely together with the sky, stars and, mountains. The high-pass that I used from one of the layers that I created earlier gave that nice kick and painty-look-and-feel. Other than Polar Coordinates, and the usual blending modes I go with, I used motion blur for a few layers, and transform (warp) some pieces in it that I haven't tried out before to create tunnels.


I'm trying to sign up for KnownOrigin so I can mint my artwork over there. I'm thinking about creating a 1 out of 1 limited edition of it. First, let's hope that I get accepted.

Cheers,
Ruben

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now