⚗️ Experiments - finding your way as an artist

Quite often, when I talk to people, I find it almost amusing of how they imagine the life of an artist. Of course, it is generally assumed, that all painters are starving and that the life they chose is just another poor decision they made, because their awkward personality forced them this way (giggle)..

divcom-005.jpg

It's also widely believed that painters only work, when the muse kisses them. OK, true... thank good she does that every day around 9am, as one of my colleagues said it so nicely once.

I usually start my day with a cup of coffee in my office, checking mails and what else is going on and then I move on to painting or in my woodworking shop to build a frame or something.

But since I easily get bored when something becomes a routine, I always want to learn and try new things. Which also means a lot of experimenting, trial and error. It took me some 20 years to perfect my hinterglas technique to really gain full control over the outcome.

KamelionDame.jpg



With the discovery of steem, crypto, blockchain based art and all that, I became very interested in exploring the possibilities of digital art, particularly in combination with my traditional work. Platforms like MakersPlace are making it possible, to create unique digital files. These tokenized images can then be collected and traded, similar to physical art. One advantage is, that you can even add movement to your art!


smackMan-3Post.gif


Creating art is one part, but if that is your job, it makes no sense, if nobody gets to see it. With the internet today, there are a lot of options. Almost too many to keep up with... unless you can employ someone full time to do it. So, again a lot of learning, trying, failing and finding the right way.

Posting to the steem blockchain has become a thing I enjoy doing on a regular basis... with occasional ups and downs. New platforms and struggling with changes or sites not working... A big source of aggravation is the new way steemit handles pictures. All downsized... for economical reasons. Supposedly 😡

I like to see pictures at high resolution and since I think others might enjoy that too, I had created my "zoom in" series. So far, the posts still seem to work and so I think I'll try another experiment here. The first picture above is a detail of "Divina Commedia". A pretty good size pencil drawing on glass. Let me start with another detail:

Divina Commedia.jpg

click ☝️🔎


So far, when you clicked on the picture, it took you to the larger file, to better see all the details. Lets see, if it works on the whole thing:

zeichnungDivComme_all.jpg

click ☝️🔎


Finally got it to work with linking the images to an external server. Not the best solution, as busy adds a link warning as you want to go see the larger picture. If anyone has abetter solution, I'd greatly appreciate every good hint!



I enjoy reading your comments!


If you like my work, of course I appreciate your upvotes and resteems


appendix-2_01.png
appendix-2_02.pngappendix-2_03.pngappendix-2_04.pngappendix-2_05.png


All photos/scans by me of my own artwork done in my special technique as introduced in What is Hinterglas?

sig-2017-1.png

pfeil-3.png

See more of my work on BeScouted

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now