Playing With Gelly Roll Gel Pens

A Red Flower and Butterfly

Finished

11x 14 Black Sketch Paper and Sakura Gelly Roll Pens

I like this technique, but it is kinda boring. I am going to try a new technique just using lines called "cross contour line drawing." If you click on the link to my work in progress article you can see what this looks like and a link to an article that takes one through different kinds of line drawing. I feel from my experience drawing two pictures using Gelly Roll pens; gel-pens work the best with the line drawing technique. They can do fill work, but it doesn't look as dramatic as a line drawing on black paper in my opinion.

I sketched out my 3rd drawing, which will be finished just using Cross Contour Drawing.

Using some of my rewards from Steemit I exchanged SBD for BTC and bought my black drawing paper with my Shift card through Coinbase. This paper has a fine finish that catches the detail you can get from gel pens. I think I paid $15.00 at my local Michael's Craft and Art story for 60 sheets of 11in x 14in, 64lb.I hope you all try your hand at drawing and creating art. Even if you suck at first, the exercise will soothe frazzled nerves and feed your creative nature. I strongly feel we are all born creators and if you truly want to draw, paint, sculpt, work in wood or whatever material you want, you can do it!

I have 68 different colored pens with two different tip sizes. The color of the pen casing does not represent the true color of the pen's ink. Also, the pen's ink will change color depending on the color of your paper. Getting to know my colors in this medium is fun, I love to explore new things. Some people may think this looks like a lot of work, your idea of work is my idea of fun!

My memory works best when I write down information in detail. For some reason doing this task sticks the data into my long-term memory data banks I call my memory library. I learned how to do this memory trick from a psychology class I took, and my professor mentioned mnemonics memory tricks.


    Gelly Roll Gel-Pen Drawings

  • Red Flower and Butterfly (WIP)
  • A Butterfly and Apple Blossoms
  • WIP And Gel-Pen Critique
  • Kelpie Ink Drawing

  • Since 1984

    After intense research and development, Sakura was first to market with the invention of gel inks in 1984. Sakura has continued to master gel ink technology offering a variety of colors, opaqueness and special effects. Today, Sakura Gelly Roll® pens come in medium and fine point Classic gel ink, Metallic, sparkly Stardust®, dual color Silver Shadow® and Gold Shadow®, and bright and creamy Moonlight®.


    some_text A link to My Blog

    H2
    H3
    H4
    3 columns
    2 columns
    1 column
    Join the conversation now