Playing With Gelly Roll Gel Pens

Thistles And Butterflies

WIP=Work In Progress

Cross Contour Drawing

11x 14 Black Sketch Paper 64lb and Sakura Gelly Roll Pens

I was going to do a contour line drawing and I kinda went into a cross-hatch/contour drawing.

I will be adding color tomorrow for the second layer. I used my white gel-pen because many of the transparent colors I love do not show up on black paper. Adding the white lines makes the transparent colors pop.

I used a charcoal pencil to draw a simple outline. I add detail using my white gel-pen. I like to have a nice outline to work on because I feel I can't draw out an image and then add color. I feel like I don't have enough confidence. I usually draw an image on transparent paper several times before I transfer onto my paper using carbon paper. I found white carbon paper that erases easily. I will be using carbon paper and transfer the image onto my black paper from now on because transferring calms my nerves; I won't goof up and ruin my paper.

I have 68 different colored pens with two different tip sizes. The color of the pen casing does not represent the true color of the pen's ink. Also, the pen's ink will change color depending on the color of your paper. Getting to know my colors in this medium is fun, I love to explore new things. Some people may think this looks like a lot of work, your idea of work is my idea of fun!

My memory works best when I write down information in detail. For some reason doing this task sticks the data into my long-term memory data banks I call my memory library. I learned how to do this memory trick from a psychology class I took, and my professor mentioned mnemonics memory tricks.


    Gelly Roll Gel-Pen Drawings

  • A Red Flower and Butterfly
  • Red Flower and Butterfly (WIP)
  • A Butterfly and Apple Blossoms
  • WIP And Gel-Pen Critique
  • Kelpie Ink Drawing

  • Since 1984

    After intense research and development, Sakura was first to market with the invention of gel inks in 1984. Sakura has continued to master gel ink technology offering a variety of colors, opaqueness and special effects. Today, Sakura Gelly Roll® pens come in medium and fine point Classic gel ink, Metallic, sparkly Stardust®, dual color Silver Shadow® and Gold Shadow®, and bright and creamy Moonlight®.


    some_text A link to My Blog

    H2
    H3
    H4
    3 columns
    2 columns
    1 column
    Join the conversation now
    Logo
    Center