Trying to Draw Without Using Grid Method (Practicing my Free Hand)

The Kissing Booth Trilogy was one of the most viewed series from Netflix. Though I haven't watched any of them, I just trusted watching only the trailer that it was an awesome movie. It is like hitting up a teenager's life with your best friends, family and your first kiss. Indeed the movie was like a fantasy on every teenage girls having their first kiss done with their crushes.

But hey I wasn't here because of the movie but I just wanted to share my practice of drawing using no grid. It's been a while since the last time that I tried to draw a portrait without grid. I am not against of using grid 'cause it really helps most artist to achieve an accuracy based on reference but technically, grids won't give you a perfect copy cat drawing unless you can draw decently to copy your chosen reference.

Materials Used:

Mongol Pencil
Charcoal Powder
5b Pencil
Make up brushes
Sketchbook 100gsm
Eraser

1.I do the circle first as the guide since my reference was in a front position.

This method I learned from a tutorial. I was afraid to try this method because it's been a year since I tried this.

IMG_20210906_170744.jpg

2.Once I divide the circle I start to draw the eyebrows, eyes and eyelids.

IMG_20210906_170758.jpg

3.Then going down to nose and lips. I add also details on cheeks and slowly add details on nose and lips.

IMG_20210906_170823.jpg

IMG_20210906_170900.jpg

4.Then I add hair details, skin tone and highlights as well.

Because of the rough paper texture, it is hard to achieve a smooth skintone. There are some parts that I ruined the paper on her forehead. I accidentally scratch it with my nails.

5.I add charcoal powder on her hair and shadows.

IMG_20210907_104331.jpg

IMG_20210907_104507.jpg

Here is the final look of my drawing. It took me 3 hours to finish it and I was happy that I was able to make a drawing without using a grid. Though my drawing didn't look exactly like Joey King, I was contented atleast to draw something again after I took a break. Hope you like it and thanks for reading my story today.


coollogo_com-14803591.gif

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center