The Psychedelic Ferris Wheel: Peerity Edition

I've had a lot fun experimenting with color lately, particularly bright, neon colors. I decided to try out a new style for the Peerity art contest, using thick lines, bold colors, and stylized abstract figures.

This is the final product.

sketch1501519249832.png

Like my work for Under the Electric Sea, I made this entirely on my phone with my fingers, this time with SketchBook (the free version).

How I made it

I kicked off the process with a finger sketch of the logo. It's turned a little from the original, so that the largest orb is on top. That sets up for the goo to go in a few different directions.

Screenshot_2017-07-29-02-03-27.png

Unfortunately I didn't take a ton of progress pics.

I altered the background of the center orb so that it'd add a dynamic effect to top layers.

Screenshot_2017-07-29-03-44-05.png

I then played with the underlying layer visibility as I added on goo.

Screenshot_2017-07-29-03-44-20.png

While doing that, I realized that I really liked the colors that had a bold accent layer, like the blue and white. I decided to integrate that in the rest of the piece, giving me the final version.

sketch1501519249832.png

All content is original.

Please follow me at @RachelBurger, upvote, and resteem to let me know you liked this post!

Other contest entries:

Your upvotes matter!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now