The Art and the Dedication of the Engraving (Xylographic Technique) Explanation and Creative Process. Miniprint Internacional Entre Ríos Argentina 2018 Contest

Hello, I greet you with pleasure after a space dedicated to my personal project I justify my absence, every day working and focused on completing the academic load of my Visual Arts career and in this way taking the step for the sample of my thesis that I have been working on with great enthusiasm.

Today I bring you the realization of a project in which you enjoy from beginning to end, because I could register your creative process, documenting through photographs and short videos of each step within this artistic modality as it is ** THE ENGRAVING** implementing in this technique the XILOGRAPHY specifically lost cue or lost plate as it is known in some countries.

GEDC0060.JPG

It should be noted, this project was made with the main objective of participating in the Entre Ríos Luis Bourband International Miniprint Competition 2018 held in Argentina, the main rule of this is to show only Traditional Engraving Techniques . In my case I present this work which reflects two faces is a xylography of 10 x 10 cm to lost or missed plate.

In this way I started with the main idea of ​​the sketch well worked, detailed and adjusted to the format of demand by the judges of the contest.

GEDC0003.JPG

In the engraving in some occasions the sketch we must translate it in the wood upside down to create the mirror effect, I recommend using a light table to trace and take care of all the details.

GEDC0005.JPG

GEDC0008.JPG

Already having the sketch drawn on the wood (matrix or plate) we proceed to roughing (create grooves in the wood), the roughing is done with the necessary tools "GUBIAS" which have different tips for the treatment of the grooves .

GEDC0014.JPG

GEDC0009.JPG

after having finished the first color as this process is long but satisfactory, we proceed to the preparation of the inks and the adjustment of the printing press.

GEDC0017.JPG

GEDC0026.JPG

GEDC0030.JPG

Engraving is always a great experience to do, but I think I enjoy it much more this time, because I was able to register most of the process so that they can enjoy it with me and observe the work in full.

Here you can enjoy more detailed results can appreciate the colors and textures generated by the wood thanks to the gouges.

GEDC0042.JPG

GEDC0044.JPG

GEDC0045.JPG

GEDC0046.JPG

GEDC0047.JPG

GEDC0048.JPG

GEDC0064.JPG

GEDC0050.JPG

In this picture I show you the final result of the lost cue or lost plate, so the wood remains after varis and several impressions.

GEDC0077.JPG

Very happy to share this content with you I hope you enjoy it as much as I do, and take advantage of it I am open to dialogue and exchange ideas with various artists of the world who love engraving.

@portilloart

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now