For DOT sake!! (Latest stone art)

Good day my fellow Steemians!


I am back with a new Stone to show! I find it a funny fact that I really enjoy working with so many different colors on these rocks. Those who know me well, know that I prefer things in black and white! Maybe these stones reveal a secret site of me? One I still have to discover myself?


While I prefer black and white, colors do bring me happiness. My house is colorful as well and I also dress in many colors. It sometimes makes me wonder why I love drawing and or painting with just black or white.


For dot sake!




done.jpg


Sometimes you are just in a purple and pink mood! And what is the best thing you can do in that case? Mix up some paint and get ready for some action!


The progress!




start.jpg


1.jpg


I started by painting the whole stone black with normal acrylic paint from Amsterdam. While waiting for the paint to dry, I used the same black paint to cover up some canvas for later works. Going to try and make matching stones and paintings to give them away as gifts!


2.jpg


3.jpg


For the dots I mixed some blue/purple and pink. I also used white for a extra touch. For this I also used paint from Amsterdam. I really enjoy this brand of paint because it's a perfect oily mix to make the dots. The paint is thin enough to work with yet stays on its place after dotting it on the stone.


4.jpg


5.jpg


Creating these mandalas on stones is really calming for me but I can also see people getting totally insane! It takes a lot of time and concentration to finish a project like this. I like to listen to some celtic music during the progress. I kinda hyper focus when I am doing the dots making me forget everything around me.


6.jpg


7.jpg


When I reach the end of the stone, I like to go back into the circle to add more smaller dots! Maybe I am starting to get addicted to dotting because I find it rather hard to stop. There is always room for just one more color or dot! But you also have to be careful not to over do. This stone took me two days to create. Mostly because at a certain time you will have to wait for the dots to dry. It's really hard to get a new dot perfectly in still wet paint!


SU6DottingTools-1000x1000.jpg
These are the tools I used
I also used the back of a pencil with a gum to make the bigger dots! I have to say that it works amazing! Maybe even better than the special pens!


done1.jpg


I am really happy with the end result and I am sure this rock will also be placed on my special plate in the living room! I still have around 20 stones to go, so stay tuned if you want to see more of them in the future.


Thank you for reading my post!


Best wishes
@poeticsnake


152448613663719991.jpg


151986693688816716.jpg


152175829957373556 (1).jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center