RE: RE: "Ithaqa" Comic Book Update #164 Steemit Crowdfunding #Steemstarter
You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: "Ithaqa" Comic Book Update #164 Steemit Crowdfunding #Steemstarter

RE: "Ithaqa" Comic Book Update #164 Steemit Crowdfunding #Steemstarter

I definitely would love to see some sort of #Steemstarter movement, but I do have a concern. (Warning: Half-asleep spitballing ahead)

Steem, like all cryptocurrencies (and currency in general, I suppose), fluctuates in value, sometimes greatly. Knowing this, it couldn't quite replace Kickstarter-style projects as a monetary value is the end goal.

It would have to be done via SBD, Steem, or Steem Power. For example, when this project reaches X Steem Power, it is considered "funded".

Issues that I forsee:

  1. You only have 7 days to generate X (which is a SERIOUSLY short amount of time, and may be nigh-impossible for large projects).
  2. Upvotes are not worth equal weight. How do you determine fair rewards to upvoters without manually recording each one, and is it really fair that a new Steemit user who is eager to fund the project is less "useful" than a whale who "just drops by"?

I know I have more but my brain just completely blanked. Ugh.

Still, I personally LOVE the idea of developing some sort of Steemstarter method.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center