I finished my last painting: a portrait (11 pics)

I showed already some steps of this painting. It is a fantastic portrait of the italian writer Ermanno Cavazzoni. I met Cavazzoni at his last book-signing a week ago. But I'm not going to talk about him. I'll talk about this painting and the technique I used.

I did this painting using mostly tempera on a raw cotton canvas. I used also colored pastels and charcoal - which I fixed later with a spray.

Here are the steps of the work in a short video:


And this is the final result:

The composition is very simple: the figure of the portrayed man, with a slight transparence and some clouds around the body; little floating figures around him; a bare countryside landscape.

Here are some details:

The texture of the canvas is coarse and visible, as you can see:

Probably I will donate this portrait to the portrayed subject, Cavazzoni. Maybe.

(Here is a picture of Ermanno Cavazzoni, from wikipedia:

Source.)


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center