Blocks- tiny paintings

Blocks of colour

blocksthumb.jpg

I was driving past blocks of relatively new apartments yesterday. The paintwork was an array of bright colours, each building block had a slightly different colour scheme. I imagined the architect's idea was to create these pure blocks of colour that added interest plus broke up the scale of the buildings.

What I found more interesting than this original intention was the way that in so little time the new inhabitants had started to leave their own mark on the design of the buildings. A new array of shapes were spreading over these minimalistic blocks of colour. Circular satellite dishes, washing lines, TV aerials, and bamboo screening strung across glass balconies. The practicalities of living had quickly taken over the original aesthetics of the building, creating its own unique design.


Three months ago I posted a piece called Tiny tree a super tiny painting made on a offcut of discarded mountboard.

The last couple of weeks I've been busy cutting a couple of dozen drawing boards out of hardboard to use in my drawing workshops. With all this cutting inevitably comes offcuts, but I'm not one to throw away potential painting surfaces! This week I've been growing the display of tiny paintings that I have up on my walls. Continuing with the lopsided theme I started with 'Tiny Tree', I've kept those edges rough and wonky!

Photographs may1728.jpg


'Circular Block' and 'Window Block' 2017- water-based paint on hardboard.

Photographs may1729.jpg

My super tiny wonky painting collection continues to grow!

https://img1.steemit.com/0x0/http://opheliafu.thefugroup.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/02/ophelia-fu-title-v2--300x196.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center