My book of drawing from Vancouver

In the last 4 years I have lived in Vanouver British Columbia twice and both times, I drew A LOT of people. Everyday I would go out to a coffee shop to draw random people and if I was on public transit, I would whip my sketchbook out to capture and interesting face or person.
I have not been sure what to do with these hundreds of drawings until this last year I had the idea of creating a book compiling all the drawings together. Why do this? Because it feels like the work deserves it. I have put hours and hours into these sketches and it feels like a huge part of me that I want to share with the world.
Right now, I don't have any idea what the final book will look like but I am at a stage now where things are starting to look a bit interesting and I thought I would share some of my creative process with the internet and the Steem community!

Last month I started taking all the drawings out one by one and cutting the people out . I then took out some of the drawings I had done in pencil and started inking them and wow did that ever make a difference. The people just started coming alive in a whole new way.
I returned back to my studio yesterday and decided to just go for it and take some risk. The results I find were a lot of fun and I'm excited to go back in there and see what else will happen.
Here are a few shots from the process and some of the mid level results. It's still very much a work in progress. I have over 100 drawings that I'm still sorting through and the whole book will be around 30-40 pages.

This project for me is really about dedication and being true to my own creative journey. I could just easily leave all these drawings in the books they were in and treat them as just practice but they are more than that. They are a memories, stories and more importantly, they were a reason for me to get up in the morning. I was so depressed and lost both times I lives in Vancouver and drawings really pulled me into the world and helped me enjoy my day.

I hope some of these shots help you enjoy your day! Thanks for having a look :)
IMG_1436.JPG

IMG_1440.JPG

IMG_1438.JPG
IMG_1441.JPG

IMG_1434.JPG

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center