Inktober Day 9 - floral crown skull

I missed a day of drawing, back on the weekend, and assumed I’d make up for it fairly quickly, but it seems I’m getting ever more ambitious with my drawings, and I’m now 2 days behind instead of just one. LOL I suppose it’s for good reason, if I’m putting that much more time and effort into each piece. But I do still plan to catch up at some point. I may need to suck it up and do a few simpler pieces.

That said, I am happy with this drawing, even if it did eat up a little more time than I had originally anticipated. I sat down with my iPad, opened a blank square, started sketching, and out came this skully. I haven’t drawn a skull in some time, but once I got started things just sort of flowed. Floral crowns, skulls, candles, and antique candleholders are some of my favourite things, so it was a really enjoyable process. I bet there will be a few more skully appearances during my inktober escapades. Plus, with getting more and more into the inking process, I figured this would make a decent second entry to this round of trial by comics.

ink

I started out with the “technical pencil” in a blue tone, for the sketch.
sketch

I find it the easiest on my eyes, easy to follow and cover later, when I do the black ink layer on top.

I used the “studio pen” to go over it and ink everything, and the eraser to bring back some white in overdrawn/filled areas.

This is what the two layers look like together:
both

I wasn’t sure how I felt about the studio pen when I first tried it on another drawing, but I definitely enjoyed using it for this particular style of crosshatch inking. I’ll be sure to keep it in mind as the month progresses, though I may need to get back to pen and paper if I want to finish things a little quicker. Haha

And click here if you’re interested in seeing my first TBC entry.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
4 Comments