Everyday Ethereal

Hello Steemians, I hope you're all doing well. I've decided to share both some old and new artwork with you. I'm interested in creating what seems ethereal from everyday items. My first instinct when an object enters my line of vision is to scan it for tiny idiosyncrasies that I can either record with my camera or pen (or perhaps both in that order). Then I may process it digitally and transform it further via Photoshop, however, the bottom two images were just photos I'd taken on my phone camera. I like to take the transformation process as far as I can, leaving a trace (or less) of the original entity. Leif Podhajsky was a particular inspiration to me when I first began doing this. Over time I've developed quite a fondness of circles, most of my work now tends to feature them in some capacity. I would quite like to understand why this is as I'm currently stifled when people ask the reason for my obsession. Perhaps it's because they represent both a sense of wholeness and emptiness; an infinite cycle; or maybe I just like them because they're perfectly symmetrical. All I know is that I like them. Anyway, I hope you receive some form of pleasure from this post & have a lovely weekend!

This is my latest work...

(The orginal photo was of a graffitied bridge)

rocky globe.jpg

This was from about a year ago...

(This is a combination of multiple photos)

smooth-textured-circle2.jpg

and these are some designs from over two years ago, when I was first interested in transformation and abstraction...

(The orginal photo was of sand)

tumblr_nzgdeqxLGh1v1l71do1_1280.jpg

tumblr_nzgdeqxLGh1v1l71do2_1280.jpg

(Window Pane)

tumblr_nzrkkseQQl1v1l71do2_1280.jpg

(Pint glass)

Snow globe.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center