Rock it and shock it, (here is my stimulus package!) Painting Garden Rocks!

Ok, Will Ferrell is one of my tribe and I do get carried away at times with quotes from~ like any of~ his movies or comedy skits. 

I love turning things into my expression of art, If I happen to find a particularly fantastic picture anywhere I will reproduce it on literally anything I can find to paint on. So here are my fabulous Garden Rocks, which often get used to prop open doors, very utilitarian aren't they? Right, so I will go into the process step by step in my tutorial video very soon, I am hunting for a special rock to begin my next project.

I found these rocks around my property and or in the garden as I was digging to plant.  

The first step is to wash the rock with soap and water and a rag, I did this several times then let it dry in the sun.  Next I sanded it with a fine grit wiped it off then applied a base coat, yup my trusty ole beige house acrylic paint... Then I applied the drawing and proceeded to create magic...lol . After the final brush stroke and the drying process, I applied a coat of varnish. The first few rocks were an experiment so I used my water based varnish hoping it would suffice in the elements. It didn't. So now I use an oil based varnish I get from my local mexican paint store (small hole in the wall tined, so wonderful what they pull out of their magic storage space. )

I apply the varnish to the whole rock. Bottom first, then after its dry completely I turn it over and cover the top. 

The gloss is fantastic and really brings out the colors.

Some of my rocks have now been in the sun and rain for two seasons and are still doing well. If they need a second coat I will give them one but so far so good. 

As far as the rocks go I pick out the smoother ones  like you find in a river bed, tumbled smooth, but really anything goes, experiment and have some fun, let the inner child play!

The Little Mona and Terrier

Poppa Pepper this ones for you!!

The Awakened Rooster

Love the Frida 



My Husband is writing a book on Universal Truth and Rock Music, so of course Frank Zappa is one of his Hero's so I painted this for his birthday.

I love Chickens and their mannerisms. If I didn't have 10 dogs and two cats (most of them are rescues) I would definitely have some chickens scratching around the garden!

These are a few of water based varnish and you can see they do not have as much shine and will need to be revarnished with the oil based varnish pronto.


Namastaynpaint....love and light to you all!!


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now