Aquarelle Illustration of a story: Our bodies are machines, time controls us +Progress

Hey there, 

I've been busy creating many new pieces and I wanted to share this watercolour painting that I made.
This painting is part of a series of illustration imaging the story "Unterwasser" written by Christopher Weber. To summarise, it tells the story of two scientifics living in an underwater lab. Their job is to check on the robots that are operating and wandering about in the deep sea, bringing back materials for research. Their time in the underwater lab is very regulated and they each must have 7 hours sleep and alternate their shifts. 

This drawing is a depiction of that area in the story. (To those wanting to know the rest of the story, check my future posts and the paintings that will accompany)

Here is the finished painting:

For my progress, I started off with some sketching:

Then traced the nearly invisible outlines on my 300g paper. 

Then I got my paints, brushes, water out and started painting:

A complete wash for the skin tone: 

Some work on the eyes:

Adding shadows to the skin tone:

Filled up the lips and made the clothing:

Now to add the machinery and the alarm clock + the hair that gets weaved in it and we have the finished piece:

Thanks for reading, new posts coming soon!


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center