Time Lapse Gouache r/SketchDaily prompt - 'Mole People'


Greetings ✌👽

Here is today's doodle. r/SketchDaily's alt prompt today was "Mole people." I wondered if I knew what a mole looked like, and - naturally - thought of badger moles from The Last Airbender series.

(What, that wasn't your first thought?)

Ok, so I might have just been reaching so I could re-watch The Last Airbender- for reference, of course.
I have some issues with this little piece. If you're familiar with the series, you might pick up on the ideas I was playing with here - The original earth bender passing on the ability to young Toph, who is blind and learns to "see" through the vibrations sensed through her feet.
I decided before I started painting that I would be working in a monochromatic color scheme and settled on blue, really just because it was already in my palette. A little way through I realized green would have probably worked better here - the ripples ended up looking too much like water 😩 Also - drawing people scares me. I'm working on it.

Supplies Used:
Paint - Winsor & Newton Gouache, White, Primary Red, Primary Blue, and Black.
Brushes
Paper

Thanks for watching - until next time!

Other daily doodles:

White Rabbit
A Box of Tissues
Cacti Doodles
Cotton Candy Clouds
Venom Doodle
Skele-Hand Body Paint


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now