REALISTIC BALL POINT PEN DRAWING OF RIHANNA - ART EXPLOSION : A Step By Step Process

Hello steemains, today I brought a new drawing of my art series - Celebrities/Famous.

IMG_20180607_184508.JPG

This is my first time of joining the contest proposed by @juliakponsford which has the theme "express yourself"

This drawing (portrait of Rihanna), I find interesting to do. She's a song writer & a singer whom I admire so much largely because of her style of music. Also I'm always passionate about drawing with pen because it requires devotion of time, concentration and patience.

PhotoGrid_1528394369314.jpg

Mediums

  • Ball point pen
  • Cardboard paper
  • Pencil and eraser

Development process

  • The drawing was started by sketching out the figure of my model with pencil. When done, I examined it carefully to make some adjustments and correct any error discovered. Thereafter, I used pen (blue) to overlay on the pencil.
  • After the sketching, I started working on the hair. I shaded slightly at first, then worked over it again with darker tones and blocked in to build my desired forms.
  • Thereafter, I worked on her face. I started from her forehead to build my forms, then I moved down to her eyes, nose, cheek and mouth. More precious time was spent on her eyes in order to make them look real as much as I could.
  • After am done with the face, I moved over to the body (chest and shoulder). Firstly, I worked on her white shirt before moving to her shoulder and upper arms.

Upon completion of the whole process, I crosschecked the work to be certain no area was left undone. The work took me about 61 hours to complete within the space of two weeks.

Thank you for your time...
--- Happy viewing ---

PhotoGrid_1527008912598.jpg

PhotoGrid_1527009158293.jpg

PhotoGrid_1528354408105.jpg

PhotoGrid_1528393913287.jpg

Thanks for upvoting and commenting:
Each upvote supports my art
Each commont uplifts my creativity.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center