Vietnam Steemians 2018: @carlpei & Tutorial of Scribble Portrait

Hi Everyone ❤

This time I would love to show you the third scribble portrait I made for the special prize of the contest “Portraits of Vietnam Steemians 2018” I held before. This contest encouraged people in the Vietnamese community to nominate others who they like and are inspired by. Then I drew the Steemians nominated by the winning posts in my scribble style drawings as gifts from me for all the great work they have done to help Vietnamese Steemians.

You can find more information about the contest and the results here:

About the prize winner

The third person to win the special prize is Mr. @dang007_ the man who support so many Vietnamese in the early days so they followed to receive his support in two groups on Facebook. But as he always wanted to support the Vietnamese community without seeking the spotlight, he wanted to nominate another person. So I chose Carlpei - one of managers of Teamvn on Discord to draw.

Carlpei_portrait.jpg

Tutorial of scribble portrait

Today I would love to share with you the tutorial of drawing in the scribble style. There may be many other ways to make scribbled drawing, I just would love to introduce my way as an example then you can develop it in your own way.

Here are some images of the drawing process of this scribble portrait. Keep reading to see more details in 4 simple steps.
Carlpei_gif.gif

For scribble drawing I use Artline pigment ink pens with 3 different size 0.1; 0.3 and 0.7 to make scribble lines more plentiful. These pens are very good as they are water resistant and have high quality.
03.jpg

Step 1: Sketch the borders

At the beginning, I drew Carlpei’s portrait by pencil. I used straight short lines to draw, then erased them a bit to make them look light grey in colour.
01.jpg

The axis of the face and facial proportions are very important to make the portrait have accurate anatomy.
02.png
Source

Step 2: Make the general shape

Starting is the hardest step, once you make a start, you can go through the process. Just feel free and also be balanced in direction and emotions. Here is the short clip showing how I started the first scribble lines.

I started drawing the general shape and layout first. You can choose many different ways, drawing from inside out or outside in, from the eyes first or from other parts first … It’s up to your preference.

In this step I drew the eyes first, then nose, mouth, ear, hair, neck and shirt.
06.jpg

07.jpg

After making the general shape of his portrait, I felt more relaxed, seeing the whole picture. So I can then go deeper into all the details of each part in the next step.

Step 3: Focus on shades

When I focus, I can see more shades of light, more layers to put more scribble lines on.

In this step, I focus on the hair first, then eyes and glasses, then nose and mouth.
09.jpg

10.jpg

Then I finish all other details on the ear, neck, shirt and also on background.

Don’t rush on this step because it may cause mistakes. There is no undo button for scribble drawing. You just need to relax, know what shade of light you want on each small area of portrait then put more scribble lines as layers to add on.

Step 4: Refine all details

In this step you can put more emotions to emphasize some details in the parts of the drawing you want to add to. Or you can let your pen fly more freely, don’t be scared that this will destroy your drawing. Put more feeling on your scribble lines.

Here is the final drawing of @Carlpei. Every single line in this portrait is a scribble and I really enjoyed drawing him.

Carlpei.JPG

What do you think of this tutorial of a scribble portrait?
Would you like to draw in scribble style or share your own tutorial?


Thank you all for taking time to read this post, I hope you enjoyed it. This is an exclusive article for the steem blockchain. It gives me great joy to be able to share my experiences with you all. If you enjoyed reading this, please share it with others by resteeming this post.

@livvu

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now