Zen & The Art of the Extra Ordinary - 'Pleated Petal' (#2)

'Pleated Petal'

20170828_232258.jpg

“For every straight line in Nature's weave
I will show you a thousand curves and a pleats
For the fabric of Nature is manifold
But the curve is the true line complete”

One day pottering around in my back garden, I came across this beautiful pink petal which had fallen from the stem onto the padded leaf below. Because of the green of the leaf the pink petal stood out all the more serving as a great contrast in order to appreciate the petal which in it's falling had not so much come to the end of it's useful life, but in it's death fall had provided a wonderful and beautiful presentation and opportunity to capture something so elegant beyond it's living life, if not for eternity. It reminds us that in death there can be great poignancy as somehow this little petal offers us. And it always reminds me of a folded pleated skirt. Something elegantly fashionable about it. The Coco Chanel of the Nature kingdom. For me it's a great image of meditation. For you?

I did several other colour versions of this image which I adore in their subtlety of tones and enjoy seeing as a collection. To be seen at a forthcoming exhibition later this year. I have placed them below. I wonder which is your favourite?

20170829_002903.jpg

20170829_003054.jpg

20170829_003159.jpg

20170829_003340.jpg

All images copyright Paul Heaney © 2018

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center