Creating Art with a CD? // A fish is talking art #1

Art is very versatile and there are many things I love about it but there is one thing.... that one thing that drives me crazy and makes me go full artist mode for 18 hours. That is..
..when I create art by accident

Like when I´m playing around with colors, with graphic programs or with any kind of materials and randomly creating something that kinda turns out to be fascinating, or so abstract that I go... wait... WHAT.. HOW DID I DO IT... HOW...
It gives me the biggest rush to discover 'new' methods (like the one I will show in this blog post) and not seldomly follows a 10 hour art session in which I use this knowledge, this power I obtained and experiment until I have mastered it. But I spend even more time afterwards observing and staring at my random paintings in awe and disbelief. How can something that was created by accident be SO beautiful....

art7.jpg
My Instagram

That is what I love about art.. IT CAN HAPPEN ANYTIME.
You can work your ass off to create something amazing but you can also be lucky and create art unintentionally.
Some may not consider your creation as art because you didn´t actually put effort in it but who´s to judge whether something is art or isn´t? The definition of art varies and in the end beauty lies in the eyes of the beholder. I personally find those pieces that are the product of accidental acts to be the most fascinating.

Don´t get me wrong I also appreciate and admire art pieces that were purposely made and that their creators put 20+ hours of work in it. But that is a topic for another time.

I wanted to write about random art because I have this painting I made about a month ago hanging beside me on the wall and I wake up every morning, starting off the day by staring at it for about 10 minutes. I have never felt like this towards any of my art pieces.

art4.jpg

The two pictures above are part of that painting. It consists of around 10 mini pieces. I didn´t paint them with brushes or any kind of fancy utensil...

Using a CD as a Painting Tool

So about a month ago I was playing around with my acrylic colors and I wanted to paint a landscape but that totally flopped because I wanted the painting to be in a specific style like how Dina Brodsky does it. Eventually I gave up and started painting on an old CD which I had used as a color palette (I dont own a palette and the CD was conveniently lying around in front of me) while listening to a Joe Rogans podcast. I wasn´t much thinking when I took the CD and pressed the colored side onto a blank paper. I picked up the CD and went WHOA das pretty . So yeah. I took a blank paper (100g/m², 29,7 x 49cm), sqeezed different colors of acrylic paint onto the CD, created only a few swirls with a toothpic to kinda mix the layers, pressed it onto the paper and let the colors do their thang.

art2.jpg

So I basically used the CD as a rubber stamp of some sort.

art5.jpg

As to why they have such funny and cool shapes is because I spread the colors unevenly, so there were at one side huge circles and on the other side there only were tiny dots.

All in all I am MORE than content with the results. Just looking at the different layers of color teleports me into another dimension.. but maybe I´m just tripping.. or maybe

Colours are brighter when the mind is open

;)
THANKS FOR READING!

art1.jpg

art9.jpg

art6.jpg

art8.jpg

art3.jpg

@originalworks

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center