Wish Upon - Progress

Some times it is hard to see the progress we are making along our journey. Just like a physical journey, our progress with a give task, learning or further development, has its hills and valleys. When you reach the crest of the hill, a high point, you can see much further around, look back over where you have come from, and look further ahead.

But then you continue your journey down the hill towards the next you had in sight. You will lose sight of the greater view. The way down, through and then up and out of the valley might demand much effort and even be painful. Yet, you have to keep going. Otherwise you might give up and be stuck in the valley. Since I'm using landscape metaphors, "You can't see the forest for the trees" becomes appropriate also. We lose our overview, our perspective.

This is where memory of past successes, visions of the goal ahead, motivated by desire to reach it, and a passion for the journey itself, is what is required to succeed.

Another analogy I liked was, you're driving from city A to city B at night. Its dark. All you have are the lights of your car the illuminate the road ahead of you at some distance. You can't see your destination. Yet you continue on because you have your road map (or navi in today's age) and the road signs you encounter on the way. Eventually you arrive at your destination even though you could not see it for 99.9% of your journey.

Maybe you encounter heavy traffic along the way and the journey is slower than expected. Perhaps you have a flat tire, or some other issue that might stop you for a while, but, you find a solution, perhaps even ask for help and then continue on your way.

So it is with my artwork.

I have a vision of what I want to achieve. I'm not there yet. Sometimes I even feel I've even taken one step backwards. But I take a deep breath and continue, keeping faith that I will reach my goal. Along the way, I'll play my favourite music, wind down the windows and enjoy the scenery.

Happy travels to you all on your own personal journeys.


This article's image is a look behind the curtain into the steps behind this artwork, "Wish Upon A.."

"Wish Upon A..." Leo Plaw, 24 x 30cm, oil on canvas
Leave a comment below, upvote and resteem if you like it.
More of my artwork can be found on my website. LeoPlaw.com
And if it takes your fancy, subscribe to my newsletter.


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center