My Art Process: Original Illustration

When I make my own illustrations, the original concept can dramatically change sometimes.
This is a illustration I was making last year. I finally finished it today, however the end product is vastly different from how it looked while I was working on it.

beach callfinn.png

The first thing I did was make the background. on another file I finished the background, I may post the process for that in another post.
beach call-0000.jpg

I have found that I like to make blobs on the canvas and then mold it into a person. Here I made a general shape and started adding the details of how I want the character to look.
[Basic Body Sketch]
beach call-000.jpg

[Hair Placement]
beach call -00.jpg

[Basic form of Girl]
beach call-0.jpg

After I get the basic parts of the picture done, I can move onto details, by adding shading, highlights, lighting, folds in the clothes, and editing the pose.
beach call---------.jpg

[I made lighting adjustment and details in teeth.]
(After this picture the girl starts changing more, I turned out actually liking how she looked here better than the end product. I may go back to this version of the girl on another day and remake her from here, but anyway, I digress. Back to the process)
beach call--------.jpg

[ I added blush to the face and highlights in the hair]
beach call------.jpg

[I decided the girl was better scaled up]
beach call-----.jpg

beach call----.jpg

[Starting to add more highlights and smoothing out the skin]
beach call--.jpg

[More lighting and detail correction]
beach call.jpg

[More cleanup- the lips are fuller, teeth more detailed and slight changes to nose and eyes]
beach call000000000.jpg

[Fixing the eyes and making more details on the nose]
beach call000000.jpg

[More cleanup and adding details]
beach call00000.jpg

[Smoothing out lines and adding lighting and shades]
beach call00.jpg

[Final Version- very different from the original style I started in]
beach callfin.png

Do any of you find you change style drastically as you make a picture?
Part of the reason this changed so much also probably has to do with how long of a break I took before finishing.
I would lover to hear your thoughts~

Anyway, until next time...

Cheers!

mascots.jpg

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/kyu10official/
Deviantart: https://peore.deviantart.com/
Tumblr: https://peore.tumblr.com/
Grapholio: http://www.grafolio.com/creator/detail.grfl?creatorId=kyu10

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center