Coral Studies- Day 5 of the Challenge

img086_compressed.jpg

Hello guys! I'm continuing with the challenge that I set for myself, and today I have some corals to show. Some of these are probably not corals, but they looked very interesting and like something I'd like to use when designing Mermaids.

I added the approximate time it took me to draw each as the times are very different. Corals are very organic, so very different to draw from fish and other objects.

Some extra interesting coral and sponge information:

Sponges are among the most simple of all animals, lacking true tissuesThey are covered in little pores with flagella, which are used to circulate water through the sponge and absorb food particles. Sponges are capable of living at any point in the ocean.
Corals are related to jellyfish and anemones. More complex than sponges, they have differentiated tissue and a true gut. Corals look like single individuals, but they are in fact huge colonies composed of numerous genetically identical polyps. These polyps have stinging tentacles. Instead of depending on food particles for food, corals get most of their nutrition from symbiotic (living off of each other) algae, which gives them their color. Corals cannot live as deep as sponges and need light can reach their algae.
Info source

Congratulations to @apprentice001! Thank you for resteeming Fish Study Day 3

1.jpg

Thank you for sharing my work! I will continue giving out rewards for your support until further notice. I will give out Steem or SBD depending what I have available :)
0.2 STEEM/SBD reward in general, 0.5 STEEM/SBD if payout is over 5$ and 1 STEEM/SBD if payout is over 10$. I will only announce the big winners from now on, to not be annoying ^^

Today's favorite music:


Warning, this is witch house: FLESH ╺╸ Black crown

Favorite artist:


Kirokaze, an incredible pixelartist and my role model. The artworks are extremely detailed and always with some unique awesome lighting.

Let me know what is your favorite coral and I'll add up a close up of it in this post!

There is still a bit time left to enter the bookmarks contest!


Please check out the awesome entries and give them some love and support <3

My previous post: https://steemit.com/artexplosion/@kristyglas/the-blue-aquatic-dragon-dromarine-full-art-process

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now