..So I decided to take a little break from painting and work on another Russian master copy drawing :)

So I decided to take a little break from painting and work on another Russian master copy drawing :)


"There are many ways to draw beautifully. It's important to let the drawing be an investigation and sometimes, in order to investigate, you need to go off the path."
-Jacob Collins


Greetings and salutations fellow Steemians!

In today’s post I thought I’d share and discuss this latest Russian master copy drawing I finished during a little oil painting break.

One of the attributes of this drawing I found to have been incredibly enjoyable while working on it was in that it became indisputably and immediately apparent in that there was an emphasis on the massing in of tone after a loosely constructed block in, followed by the re-finding of the lost and found edges of the predominant large shapes.

Considering how I have been classically trained, I could definitely feel the difference in the approach of constructing this drawing.

Working on this drawing I also found that I ended up putting the facial features in a more of a backseat, until of course the overall construction of the head was solidified or locked in. I have to admit that I enjoyed the illustrative appeal in the refinement of the hair. Once I locked in the placement and values of the back of the head and the ear, it made it much easier to progressively move outwards and break down the smaller forms. I would say one of the most difficult forms to work out were the chin and jaw as those nuances in and around the edges were so subtle.

..Please feel free to let me know what you think?

Thanks for reading Everyone!

-James Hansen
https://jameszenartist.weebly.com/

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
2 Comments