Original Weird Water Color Painting

watercolor3.jpg

New work! I started painting this the other day for fun. Below I posted two in progress photos to show my process and some of the decisions that I made while creating this surreal fellow. Hope you enjoy.

watercolor1.jpg
I didn't have anything in mind when I started out. I had just got a new set of watercolors and wanted to try them out so I got some water and some brushes and picked out a few colors I liked. I started by just making some random shapes and lines. It is fun to wet the paper and let the color bleed giving it a translucent smoky effect, or let the color pool up in a vibrant opaque puddle. I continued painting shapes and lines to create a larger form until I began to see a face start to form. watercolor2.jpg
Now that I had an idea of the direction I wanted to go, I used some darker colors to emphasize certain shapes that flowed with one another, were more interesting looking, or were most important to forming the structure of the face. After this all that was left to do was add in the the rest of the detail.

watercolor3detail.jpg

Please upvote and follow! If you like this painting I have some other cool stuff to look at, so please do.

-inkmud

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now