A peek into comic panel creation process

Hi Steemians, do you want to see how watercolor is used for the creation of a comic panel? This is how it's done at Haedre's berlin Headquarters.

_Bann_ship_wip.jpg

So, first thing you should know is that I use 300g. Arches paper. I put it in water for around 3 minutes, then I stick it on a light board of wood with kraft paper. Once it's dry, it's properly tensed so all the water that I'll use wont make the paper warping nor having hollows.

So, it's ready for the penciling.
IMAG7267.jpg

Then I ink it and erase the pencil.
IMAG7283.jpg

Now the background.
IMAG7294.jpg

Inking the background.
IMAG7386.jpg

And now I can start the coloring!
IMAG7393.jpg

IMAG7396.jpg

IMAG7406.jpg

Et voilà!
IMAG7411.jpg

IMAG7414.jpg

And here's the definitive image after slight treatments and with the thought bubbles (Ok, this I do on photoshop with my own typo because my handwritting is actually horrible :D )
Devlok, the techno-templar_42.jpg

So I hope you found this interesting! Personnally I can't stop using paper and such "old" techniques, it's been pretty often that I've been told to use digital but then when will I be out of the computer? Let's add that I can also exhibit these pieces which is something that became rather rare in the comic industry.

Thanks for having read till here, if you digged this, you might check out my official website for more http://www.haedre.com

My facebook page: http://www.facebook.com/haedreart/

Oh and for sure you can
upfostee.gif

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center