Graded Exposure Therapy

Graded exposure is a tool used in psychology to tackle a phobia.

In graded exposure an individual is exposed to their fear or trigger, gradually, and over time increases that exposure to more anxiety provoking situations.

I prefer this approach to another called flooding, in which the individual is literally plunged into traumatic over exposure. This can be a successful fast track for some people, but can also result in further trauma.

I am undertaking a graded exposure of my own, ahead of actually holding a chicken!

Yes a chicken!! - The most horrendous of birds.

I have Ornithophobia. Fear of Birds.

Today I also leant that there is a specific label for chicken phobia - Alektorophobia. This knowledge has reinforced my fear, and as I write I am getting uncomfortable, hot, shaky, sweaty and I can feel my pulse escalating.

But I am jumping ahead and visualising the worst scenario.
My plan is to look at photos first. I will set the task of finding images of birds, photos not illustrations, because photos of actual birds are much harder to look at. In my post yesterday I only looked at illustrations, so today I will increase the discomfort to actual birds.

Today I am starting with the peacock. It isn't too difficult to see the beauty in their feather pattern.

I also want to put a call out to all the bird lovers out there. Send me a photo of your beloved bird, and I will attempt to look at it, find it's beauty, and create an art work.

photo credit pixabay


This is yesterdays post of Robin eggs for the lovely @robyneggs.
https://steemit.com/art/@girlbeforemirror/homage-to-robyneggs


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center