Art: Pen on Paper!

Hi guys...
I've been a lot excited about sharing my craft on this platform, since the @artzone announcement.

I'll be taking you through one of my personal best, which I did with a black pen.IMG_4021.JPG

This was exciting for me even before I started...the original reference was already in black and white which made it really enticing. It wasn't a commisioned work also. I loved it and decided to practice with a pen.

YOU DON'T KNOW UNLESS YOU TRY!!!

So like i've mentioned, I gridded the drawing paper to make it easier to draw. Thereafter I do the outline of the drawing, following each gridline.
IMG_3967.JPG

  • I used the 'Grid#' app on my iPad, and chose a suitable scale.
  • You should take your time when scaling, get your figures right... the ratio, especially if you are enlarging.
  • I always get it wrong the first time, I don't know why...and trust me, my maths is da bomb.loool

IMG_3977.JPG

  • I always like to start from the left side, I don't know if that is a thing.
  • I usually tilt my pen and draw strokes (shade) the same way I would a pencil

IMG_3990.JPG

  • It is important to have a cotton wool or tissue paper or just a paper, to clean the tip of the pen. If you notice there are quite a number of 'stains'...
  • loool, you probably thought it was pimples or blackheads. hahaha
  • oops, ignore the post on that...but yh she's gonna be 18 in a few days yaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaassss!!! :D

IMG_3999.JPG

  • It's just shading from here on
  • finish a part before moving to another
  • follow your strokes well...follow the reference too
  • guiding your strokes rightly is very important...you don't wanna be doing a straight stroke on a curved face
  • it brings out the illusion...remember you're drawing on a plane 2-D paper.

IMG_4015.JPG

  • whew this part was tiring... I think i ussed up a pen
  • the dark shades...

IMG_4018.JPG

  • it is important to use the same shade of colors all through... I think i misplace one and used up another.
  • If you look closely, there is a different shade of black!

So guys... thank you for staying till the end!!!

I'd like to suggest that groups (discord and the likes) are opened for these different forms of art, so participant can share ideas and help each other grow. I believe, the world is a big enough place for everyone to thrive!!!
cc @surfyogi, @gee1, @jeaniepearl

REference photo: Picture of health coach, Tolu Dave Francis.
Thank you guys!!!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center