Art Attack... Oil Painting!

IMG_4060.JPG

YOU DON'T KNOW UNLESS YOU TRY...!!

That statement gets me going...

My reference was a beautiful picture of the sunset, taken from my frontyard, somewhere in the southern part of Nigeria. #SunsetStalkerAlert
IMG_3014.JPG

As usual... The outline is very important, so you don't mess it all up (oh and that can still be art)

IMG_3016.JPG

Then I began painting along the outline...the dark parts first. This was a relatively easy reference because i didnt have to mix that many colours (color composition is a basis if you're gonna be a professional artist who works with colours)

IMG_3032.JPG

IMG_3035.JPG

After I had all the dark (black) parts painted... I started to get the coloured parts of the setting sun painted.

  • I believe there are many ways to mixing colours and painting. You should be expressive with this.
  • I mixed the colours somewhere first before applying them
  • Instances where i felt i didnt get the right colour, i'd try to blend it on the drawing
    Erm...yh this was me trying!!!

IMG_3041.JPG

Taaadaaaa... Here you go!
Ignore the foot by the way, lol
oh and that's a basketball hoop... I've had a couple of people ask me
I believe it came out alright... Many lessons learnt in the process too!

Materials Used: Oil color (cant remember the make), Paint brushes, Oil color sketch pad, Graphite Pencil

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center