Painting: The Phoenix and the Peranakan culture

Hello steemers!

Well today is the day that I would finally show you guys one of my prized artwork. Charut. Hahaha

So, I know someone from Singapore who loved Peranakan porcelains and he collects them. I have seen his collection in person and you wouldn't believe how many pieces he owned!

To explain to you more I googled from Wiki what's peranakan..

Peranakan Chinese or Straits-born Chinese are the descendants of Chinese immigrants who came to the Malay archipelago including British Malaya (now Malaysia and Singapore, where they are also referred to as Baba-Nyonya) and Dutch East Indies (now Indonesia; where they are also referred as Kiau-Seng) between the 15th and 17th centuries.

And Peranakan porcelains are the kitchenware they used back then, and from what I heard they only use these kitchen wares if there are some special occasions in the family.. (like our old grannies would do, right?????!) now, they are one of the most valuable antique porcelains to date. Singaporians, Malaysians and Indonesians are more likely to possess these beautiful and historical artifacts from the past..

Anyway, back to the painting. I decided to paint it because my friend was having his birthday and as a thank you gift for letting me stay to his place, I wanted to paint him something .. and I took a picture without him knowing from one of his collections..

IMG_4079.JPG

I also noticed that lots of these porcelains got a Phoenix or two.. so I decided to do magical bird rather than the peonies.

IMG_4286.JPG

I didn't have any of my initial lines here, because it took me a lot of time to start this project.. I had school works then so I forgot to take a photo.

When I started to put some colors I learned to blend! And from before I have no idea what I was doing..

IMG_4289.JPG

I look so happy doing this. Hahaha

These are some blue and pink peonies which it has a significant meaning with the phenix as well..

IMG_4335.JPG

IMG_4334.JPG

IMG_4336.JPG

And I am very proud of them..

But it really took me a lot of time to finish this and I think it took me about a month to finally say "It is done!" But I did finished it anyway hahaha

And this is the finished painting..

IMG_4695.JPG

IMG_4688.JPG

The Phenix
Acrylic on canvas

IMG_4689.JPG

Ps. It is now sitting in the room full of peranakan porcelains of my friend in Singapore.

I hoped to paint once more.

Thanks guys, see you again next time :)

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center