Recent Ink Sketches - Animales y Ojos

Animales

I have drawn many subjects, but animals have rarely been in my repertoire.

When I was in eighth grade, my art class went on a field trip to the Fort Worth Zoo. Our assignment was simple: draw as many animals as possible. I remember that day as one of my favorite school field trips.

Woefully, I have none of the drawings I made that day, nor any other art made in my youth. The vast majority of it was gifted to friends, the rest sacrificed to the U-Haul gods during one move or another. No matter! I've made some more animals and I present them now.

My favorite among these is the vulture because of the look in his eye. I am his favorite too, from what I've heard. The gazelle has beautiful, luscious lips,
and the primate just doesn't care anymore (typical).

20170924_202210-850x636.jpg


Ojos

Eyes are always fun to draw. When it feels like the ink is staring back, the job has been well done.

I could probably fill an entire book with nothing but eyes, they are so intricate.
Here I was dabbling with different ways of drawing the details of the irises to capture the most depth and dimension.

This page is a quick study, so some of the eyes leave a bit to be desired, and few seem more alien than human, (which was not my intent) but I have no complaints. Part of the process and the fun!

I see you.
20170924_205948-850x611.jpg


There are more pages to share
For all those who care
To have a look
at my sketchbook.


Until we meet again, fellow Steemians
H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now