My 2019 Resolution

Hello people, I'd like to wish you all a happy new year. 💜
So, if you follow me on instagram you'll know that I've been drawing and doodling recently in my little note book.
I guess santa 🎅 decided to get me a sketch pad and pencils to help bring out my artistic side.
Now I'm getting really excited with what to fill up these blank pages with.

So here are some drawings and doodles I've been doing since I started using a pen again.

Oh, having said that. I must mention that it's been a rather long time since I last drew something with a pen or pencil. Infact I don't think I have used a pencil since I visited ikea about 3 years ago.

This was one of the first drawings I did with a Bic biro. I'm not going to lie, I was alittle surprised how good it turned out.

I was so proud of it, I ruined it with a name tag and date.

then I thought I'd try and draw a nose, I use to enjoy drawing portraits in school. I loved my art classes.

I attempted to draw another eye, this time I did this while I was in a coffee shop, doodling while waiting for a friend, I could've done better, I wasn't really paying full attention to it, I admit it was rushed and ummmmm not a great drawing at all, so I abandoned it.

I thought I'd practice my shading, I realised very quickly that I have to cover up my mistakes and that ment potentially ruining or changing the original idea of the image.

this is another doodle I thought was cool, I was getting use the biros at this point so I tried something alittle different.

this is another doodle.
I found a sharpy and thought I'd do something random.
This drawing helped me to learn about the types of paper. I noticed the ink bled through the paper and ruining about 2 other pages.

I still had this sharpy so I thought I'd draw a owl eye. I put a scrap bit of paper under this page to prevent it from bleeding through, avoiding ruining more pages. it seemed to have don't the trick.

This was my unexpected Christmas present, I was so happy and excited for this gift. I just couldn't wait to use it. It was all I had been thinking about since November, I was really enjoying my long lost love for art and sketching.

after thinking about what I could do, I decided to do what I know I'm comfortable drawing.
any ideas what this is?

Yep, an eye. usually I like to draw the shape of the eye 👁 first and then the pupil. But for some reason I thought I'd just do the iris and maybe switch it up and go abstract to fill up the page.

I posted this on my instagram and asked if I should do an abstract sketch or continue with a realistic eye. they voted to continue. so that helped me create this next image.

now this is still not complete, it's still a working progress, this is my 2019 sketch, the first one. I plan on completing this. and that gave me the idea 💡 of my new years resolution. I'm going to try and complete at least one sketch a month. I know I'm going to be sketching alot more then just one a month, but I think it's realistic to commit to 'one per month' rather then setting the bar too high and crumbling under my own pressure. I'd rather give myself as much time to make mistakes and to be able to fishing a nice bit of art I can be proud of in the future.

I'd like to thank you for taking the time to read my post, I hope you have enjoyed my work in progress I hope I'm getting better, feel free to share your thoughts, comments and suggestions, also feel free to follow me on instagram www.instagram.com/shawnsagoo

Once again happy 2019 to you all.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now