My digital art and design setup

Hey Steemers! I thought it would be helpful to share with you my digital art setup and maybe include some links and such to some of the hardware I use. This won't be incredibly in depth, but if you have any questions, please feel free to comment! I'll do my best to answer where I can.

IMG_6397.JPG

I'm not a photographer, so forgive the low budget photo :P

Monitors (and tablet):
On the left on a monitor arm is the Wacom Cintiq 21ux. I generally use this when I'm sketching or inking, but when I'm painting I reach for my Intuos 4 (that's that black pad on the desk just below the Cintiq). I've tried some off brand tablets, but I really really love the sturdiness and build quality of the Wacom products.

On the right is my newest purchase, the LG 27" 4k monitor. I'm not sure how much I love this thing yet. The massive amount of pixels it displays is great, but there are a few issues with the UI scaling in a few applications. Gaming is pretty incredible on this thing though!

Cintiq 21UX
Wacom_Cintiq_21UX_Black_115739.png

LG 27" 4k monitor
lg.jpg

Intuos 4 Medium
711twh6SAPL._SL1500_.jpg

Headphones:
Neither of these headphones are anything special, but after doing some work for Skullcandy, I thought it would be rad to buy some of their stuff. The wired headphones on the right are the Skullcandy Crusher, and are super comfortable. The headphones hanging on the left monitor are the Skullcandy Grind Wireless. I love the wireless aspect, but they get pretty uncomfortable after a while and my ears get pretty sore :\

Skullcandy Crusher
GRALIMLM.jpg

Skullcandy Grind Wireless
15621-L-LO.jpg

The keyboard is a basic wired mac keyboard, and the mouse is a Logitech Hyperion Fury that I got super cheap during a Black Friday sale.

Logitech Hyperion Fury Mouse
g402-hyperion-fury-ultra-fast-fps-gaming-mouse.png

The speakers are cheap and not really worth talking about :)

Software:
Up until a couple months ago I was rockin' the full Adobe Creative Cloud Suite, but have since dropped the full suite and am currently just paying for Adobe After Effects, which is the application I do all of my motion design and animation work in. I've replaced Adobe Photoshop with Paintstorm Studio and Clip Studio Paint, both of which are relatively inexpensive and super powerful. Adobe Illustrator has been replaced by Affinity Designer, another cheap yet incredibly powerful vector program. It's almost like a hybrid between Sketch and Illustrator. For recording and streaming my videos, I use OBS, which is an amazing open source program. Highly recommend it.

Paintstorm Studio: http://www.paintstormstudio.com/index.html
Clip Studio Paint: https://www.clipstudio.net/en
Affinity Designer: https://affinity.serif.com/en-us/
OBS: https://obsproject.com/

I think that about wraps it up when it comes to my main art station. I do have an iPad Pro and Apple Pencil which are great for sketching on the couch or out in a cafe, and Procreate is my go to software on that device.

If you have any questions, please let me know! I'd love to help you get started if you have any interest in moving in to the digital painting realm!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center