New Painting w/ progress images...





When Sadness is held hostage by Happiness

This latest piece from my 'Abstract Mind' series is about overpouring happiness and how that state is often just a masquerade for inner emptiness and sadness. I live very close to the party district here in Hamburg and sometimes people there make me wonder...it seems so easy for most of them to put their happy faces on. But if I look very close they don't really look happy at all.

Well, that's a normal thing in our society I guess...but the thought about it brought this painting to life. And art can always wonder about things in an abstract way. I like that. This painting has very bright colors but if you look really close you can find the sad face in the painting...can you go deep enough?






The chaotic 'underpainting'...




...working on the portrait




"Looking down, from below" | acrylic on canvas | 50cm x 60cm




 

“We hide our demons so good, that the angels we show, bare the shame on their faces.”

anthony liccione 





Upvoting & resteeming makes me happy and keeps my art alive :-)

For more information about my art please visit konstantinbax.com



H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now