Grant Wood, Grant Wood, Grant Wood! I Love his Stylized Landscapes.


Joslyn Art Museum Omaha Nebraska

'Stone City' painted in 1930

Grant Wood was a painter of the between-the-wars years.

He was influenced by the modern art movement but used his own twist on it. His paintings are almost like carvings to me but I haven't seen any in real life. They are oil on canvass so the carving effect probably doesn't exist then.

I think 'Stone City', the picture at the top, looks like a computer game graphic with its hard lines and weird, stylized trees.

I find the angle of the landscape painting, kinda looking down on the scene, attractive. I really love the lighting and shadows which give a 3D effect.


Art Experts

Landscape

The above picture, with the unimaginative title 'Landscapes', takes the light and shade one step further with a dusky scene.


Smithsonian Magazine

'American Gothic' Painted in 1930

Grant Wood also liked to paint people. Personally, I find his wooden style doesn't suit this subject.

Do you like the paintings of Grant Wood?

Thank you for viewing!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center