Some of my favorite pieces of leather artwork!

Felt like sharing some of my favorite pieces of pocket art today. Everything seen here was made by my buddy Danny over at Wasteland Oddities, as he is who I go to whenever I need/want leatherwork done. I don't think leather hand tooled/painted stuff is too widespread, and I think that's a shame because you can make some very rad, colorful, and unique things with this media as you might be able to tell from these pictures! 

This specific piece of artwork is a leather tag which has been laser etched, which is fairly unique in it's own right since I don't know many people who do laser work with leather. Doing laser work gives very specific and accurate results for good detailed work, though getting stuff laser etched can be pretty pricey from past experiences of sending stuff off for it myself. This is a leather tag which can go on your keychain, knives, necklace, lanyards, backpacks, or anything with a zipper. It's a rockabilly style skeleton girl, if you couldn't tell from the design :P 

Yet another leather tag, but this one is actually hand tooled with the image and then was painted afterwards. I absolutely love the colors that were used on this design, and I especially love the ridiculousness that is a zombiefied cactus with bones and a brain sticking out. The moon is really striking to me on this piece, but I've always been a sucker for artwork of the moon for some reason. Anyways, I think this is an interesting piece of art and shows a good example of the great work that can come out of using leather as a media. 

And, this piece is probably my most cherished piece of leather artwork, as well as the most practical. Especially now, because unfortunately Zippo has made Wasteland stop using their lighters for his artwork so there won't be anymore of these made or for sale in the future. This piece of art features the logo from my favorite series of novels, Monster Hunter International. Danny happens to also be a fan of the series which made this even cooler to have him do, and it came out great overall. I had him add the blood splatter onto the logo to spice it up a bit, since the logo is pretty simple itself and I thought it was quite fitting considering the story and genre of the books.

Anyways, I just wanted to post these up to show some examples that more strange forms of media can make for great artwork, even if you're not looking for stuff to carry with you all the time. Hope that you've enjoyed checking these out and like the artwork. Thanks for stopping by!  

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center