why I like British Colonial Design ! 💥

This is a design I made some time ago which was inspired by the British Colonial style. I really love this style and I will tell you why if you read along.

untitled.2007.jpg

I like this style a lot because it reminds me of a time before technology. Before mass production was a standard. It was a time where furniture where still made by hand and with love.

untitled.2008.jpg

The British Colonial was at its height in the 19th and 20th centuries. At this time the British Empire spanned the globe and the romance of exotic travel was an exciting reality for some lucky people that where able to go to India, the Caribbean, Africa and the Far East. The colonial settlers brought with them traditional styles from Britain and their style was blended and adapted locally. It is the merging of these varied styles that I really love about British Colonial style as you can see the different elements in the furniture.

untitled.2014.jpg

This style has become quite popular again today as the world is blending together in a beautiful cultural mix but still we miss that bygone era that was genteel and elegant while at the same time relaxed and comfortable, and perhaps a bit less stressful.

untitled.2015.jpg

I made some different color options for this design. I want to keep it clean and modern while in the same time retain the old design elements. My goal is to make this table by hand when I buy my own home :)

I am not saying that my whole home should have this style, but atleast certain things, and the office table being one of them. I think this kind of office table gives a great sense of tranquility. I can imagine myself working on it and painting on it perhaps accompanied with a nice glass of wine 🍷

Design for me is a lifestyle and as it reflects history I think it's a great memorabilia of our past to have in our home as a reminder of the beauty we have created through history.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now