@comealong Original Work - Portrait of a Boy

A Boy

Mixed media piece.
graphite/charcoal/digital drawing.





A little bit of the process on this one:

I started with a quick sketch of the face indentifying where to add shading. I let the piece kind of grow organically and wherever it moves me. More importantly locating where to show lights and darks. I don't worry too much about miscalculations or mistakes, I tend to either go with it or simply manipulate along the way.

After I've laid everything out on this piece by paper, for this particular drawing, I move to manipulate in Photoshop. I enhance shading with the paint and eraser tools and a series of blending. I perfect anything that needs adjusting. My goal is to get to the point where I get it looking as smooth and realistic as possible...as if you're looking at a black and white photograph.

Emotional pieces are always my favorite. My goal is to get the emotion accross through the eyes. That to me, is always the most powerful. If I can get accross the feelings I felt while making this, I've done my job.

Hope you enjoyed.



You can Follow me on Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/comealongart/

Thanks for Stopping By!

@comealong

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now