Finishing Laura's Artistic Sentence...

20180819_191146.jpg
This coloring was started by Laura Lemons & finished by myself well over 18 months later. It is from a book I gifted her called "Vive, Le Color! Meditation." Here's how Laura had it started....
20180816_231539.jpg
It was a weird experience finishing this coloring. I remember vividly thinking how it might be helpful & fun for Laura, the amazing artist and coloring book artist, to try her hand at some actual coloring. Many studies have shown coloring took be therapeutic for depression and anxiety. It was ironic myself the colorist, mailing @lauralemons coloring books. Even more irony after her suicide getting those same books back & finishing one of her colorings from somewhere under 2 years back. I mailed her the books in late 2016/ early 2017.

Her initial choice of colors for this mandala with the red, purple, green, light pink, yellow, & blue are not what I would've chosen. So, I had to adapt my mindset to this palette and I tried to finish it how Laura may have. I have hundreds of colored pencils yet struggled to find matching purple & blue hues. Yet, it all came together in the end. I'm glad I finished it.

I also sent her the book "Leafy Animals" by James Alexander. She started several pieces in here, the most striking to me being the deer and jellyfish....
20180819_205512.jpg
I don't think I'll try to complete the jellyfish as I really love it as is. I remember she posted it as a work in progress in the art group I used to run. I may or may not finish the other colorings she started. I only ever committed to the mandala, which she did not share on social media. It was hard on an emotional and artistic level, but an overall cathartic experience. Hope you like it Lemons!! RIP ♡
received_248445739128208.jpeg
Become a Dreamian:
https://discord.gg/2wCcDe

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now